hegelpd

hegelpd

Classical german philosophy. University of Padova research group

ONLINE CONFERENCE: Kant and the Norms of Cognition: A Revaluation of the Synthetic Apriori (July 22-24, 2021)

We are glad to give notice that the online conference Kant and the Norms of Cognition: A Revaluation of the Synthetic Apriori, organized by Konstantin Pollok, Margit Ruffing, Luigi Filieri, Lucia Volonté (Kant-Forschungsstelle, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz), will take place on Zoom on 22-24 July, 2021.

Participation is free. To get the Zoom-link, please sent a mail to kant@uni-mainz.de by July 20th.

Below you can find the conference program.

***

Thursday, 22.07.2021:

15:45 CEST (UTC+2)/ 9:45am Eastern/ 6:45am Pacific: Welcome

16:00: Katharina Kraus (University of Notre Dame): The Demands of Reason: On the Semantic and the Epistemic Role of Reason in Kant

17:00: Janum Sethi (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor): Two Kinds of Synthetic Unity in Kant

18:00-18:30: Coffee break

18:30: David Hyder (University of Ottawa): The Law of Evidence of the Critique of Pure Reason and the Causal Structure of Time

Friday, 23.07.2021:

16:00 CEST / 10:00am Eastern/ 7:00am Pacific Cord Friebe (Universität Siegen): Kant’s Ontology of Appearances and the Synthetic Apriori

17:00: Laura Davis (University of Pittsburgh): Self-Cognition in Kant’s Logic

18:00-18:30: Coffee break

18:30: Eric Watkins (University of California, San Diego): Is the Principle of Pure Reason Synthetic a priori?

Saturday, 24.07.2021:

16:00 CEST / 10:00am Eastern/ 7:00am Pacific: Marcus Willaschek (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main): TBA

17:00: Corey Dyck (University of Western Ontario): The Syntheticity of the Principle of Apperception

18:00-18:30: Coffee break

18:30: Richard Evans (Imperial College, London): Machine Apperception: Reinterpreting the Synthetic Apriori as Strong (but domain-independent) Inductive Biases in an Unsupervised Learning System

 

Contents licensed by CC BY-NC-ND. Your are free to share, copy and redistribute the material in any medium or format, under the following terms:

  • Attribution - You must give appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if changes were made. You may do so in any reasonable manner, but not in any way that suggests the licensor endorses you or your use.
  • NonCommercial - You may not use the material for commercial purposes.
  • NoDerivatives - If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you may not distribute the modified material.

The licensor cannot revoke these freedoms as long as you follow the license terms.

Article's url: http://www.hegelpd.it/hegel/online-conference-kant-and-the-norms-of-cognition-a-revaluation-of-the-synthetic-apriori-july-22-24-2021/