news&events

ONLINE CONFERENCE: Kant and the Norms of Cognition: A Revaluation of the Synthetic Apriori (July 22-24, 2021)

We are glad to give notice that the online conference Kant and the Norms of Cognition: A Revaluation of the Synthetic Apriori, organized by Konstantin Pollok, Margit Ruffing, Luigi Filieri, Lucia Volonté (Kant-Forschungsstelle, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz), will take place on Zoom on 22-24 July, 2021.

Participation is free. To get the Zoom-link, please sent a mail to kant@uni-mainz.de by July 20th.

Below you can find the conference program.

***

Thursday, 22.07.2021:

15:45 CEST (UTC+2)/ 9:45am Eastern/ 6:45am Pacific: Welcome

16:00: Katharina Kraus (University of Notre Dame): The Demands of Reason: On the Semantic and the Epistemic Role of Reason in Kant

17:00: Janum Sethi (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor): Two Kinds of Synthetic Unity in Kant

18:00-18:30: Coffee break

18:30: David Hyder (University of Ottawa): The Law of Evidence of the Critique of Pure Reason and the Causal Structure of Time

Friday, 23.07.2021:

16:00 CEST / 10:00am Eastern/ 7:00am Pacific Cord Friebe (Universität Siegen): Kant’s Ontology of Appearances and the Synthetic Apriori

17:00: Laura Davis (University of Pittsburgh): Self-Cognition in Kant’s Logic

18:00-18:30: Coffee break

18:30: Eric Watkins (University of California, San Diego): Is the Principle of Pure Reason Synthetic a priori?

Saturday, 24.07.2021:

16:00 CEST / 10:00am Eastern/ 7:00am Pacific: Marcus Willaschek (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main): TBA

17:00: Corey Dyck (University of Western Ontario): The Syntheticity of the Principle of Apperception

18:00-18:30: Coffee break

18:30: Richard Evans (Imperial College, London): Machine Apperception: Reinterpreting the Synthetic Apriori as Strong (but domain-independent) Inductive Biases in an Unsupervised Learning System

 

Printable Version

Comments

comments