calls / news&events

CFA: “Kant’s A-Deduction” (Leuven, December 12-13, 2016)

We are glad to announce that the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven has organized a conference addressing the issue of “Kant’s A-Deduction”. The event will be held in Leuven on December 12th-13th, 2016.

Confirmed Keynote Speakers
Manfred Baum (Wuppertal)
Corey W. Dyck (Western Ontario)
Giuseppe Motta (Graz)
Alexandra Newton (Illinois)

The Institute of Philosophy at KU Leuven invites submissions for a conference dedicated to Kant’s A-Deduction. For various reasons, many commentators tend to overlook the A-Deduction in favor of the 1787 edition. In contrast to that trend, this conference aims to interpret and assess Kant’s A-Deduction on its own terms and shed light on important insights that are pivotal to the Critique of Pure Reason as a whole.
Papers focusing on any aspect of the A-Deduction are welcome. Themes of papers may include, but are not limited to: the argumentative structure of the A-Deduction, key concepts of the A-Deduction, the roles of the various faculties, the historical context of the A-Deduction (especially in view of Kant’s relationship to his contemporaries), and the fate of the A-Deduction (e.g. its reappraisal in the Opus postumum).

The conference aims at stimulating fruitful exchanges between established scholars, young researchers, and PhD students. Presentation time will be 25 minutes + 15 minutes for discussion.

Abstracts (between 400 and 800 words) should be sent in MSWord as attachment to:

Abstracts have to be prepared for double-blind review by removing any identification details. The author’s name, paper title, institutional position and affiliation, as well as contact information should be included in the body of the e-mail.

Submission Deadline: September 15, 2016
Notification of acceptance by September 30, 2016.

Organizing Committee
Henny Blomme (Leuven)
Karin de Boer (Leuven)
Geert van Eekert (Antwerp)
Maarten van Dyck (Ghent)
Arnaud Pelletier (Brussels)
Joris Spigt (Leuven)
Cody Staton (Leuven)

Scientific Committee
Henny Blomme (Leuven)
Karin de Boer (Leuven)
Bernd Dörflinger (Trier)
Arnaud Pelletier (Brussels)
Julien Piéron (Liège)
Gertrudis Van de Vijver (Ghent)
Geert Van Eekert (Antwerp)

For inquiries concerning this event, please write to:
or visit the conference’s official website:

Printable Version